Logistics and Supply Chain MultiTech R&D Centre > Technology Commercialisation > Case Studies > Robotic Material Preparation Device
Robotic Material Preparation Device

Robotic Material Preparation Device

 

Material preparation procedures are commonly a critical requirement for product safety and conformity assessments/tests in many product compliance laboratories around the World.

The procedures are labour-intensive, repetitive, routine and tiring.  Most importantly, nearly all products are required to go through such procedures.  Hence, two-third (2/3) of workers carry various material preparation tasks within each laboratory or organization.

LSCM has developed a robotic material preparation device for product assessment.  This robotic technology is comprised of tactile and visual guidance systems. In order to avoid cross-contamination, the device is designed to have an ionized air blower and a sample collection tank. In addition, a novel high-speed milling cutter was developed to effectively remove samples from the surface of selected items.

With the support of SGS, a renowned product safety and conformity assessment organization, this device can help prepare product samples of kitchenware, garment/clothing, woodware toys and so on for chemical or biological conformity assessments.  These samples can be in different colours, shapes, sizes and made of various materials, all of which the robotic technology can handle.

The system is innovative as no similar device has been developed or used in the industry in Hong Kong. It improves cost effectiveness and enhances the competitiveness of local product safety, as well as conformity assessment standards.

物流及供应链多元技术研发中心 > 技术商品化 > 专案研究 > 材料准备机械人装置
材料准备机械人装置

材料准备机械人装置

 

在世界各地的许多产品合规实验室中,材料准备程序通常是产品安全和合格评定/测试的关键要求。

这些程序通常都是劳动密集、不断重复、常规性和令人劳累的。最重要的是几乎所有产品验证都需要经过这样的程序。因此,在每个实验室或组织内有三分之二的工作人员均需负责准备材料的任务。

LSCM开发了适用于评定产品合格的材料准备机械人装置。该机械人装置包含触觉和视觉导引。为了避免交叉污染,装置设置了电离吹风机和样本收集箱。此外,还开发了新型高速切割机,从而有效地从所选项目的表面上拿取样本。

机械人装置不仅在香港得到认可,更得到知名产品安全和检验机构SGS支持。机械人装置适用于厨具、衣服/布料、木制玩具等产品的样本,以便进行化学或生物质量评定。装置可处理不同的颜色、形状、尺寸和物料样本。

机械人装置于香港业界为首创的设备,此系统十分创新。机械人装置将可以为物流、科技、生产业等带来便利。它不但提高成本效益,同时增强本地产品安全和质量检定机构的竞争力。