Logistics and Supply Chain MultiTech R&D Centre > Technology Commercialisation > Case Studies > Smart Traffic Control System
Smart Traffic Control System

Smart Traffic Control System

 

The Tai Tam Road (Dam Section) was constructed more than a century ago and is part of the thoroughfare connecting Chai Wan with Stanley.  Since its width is only 5 meters, congestion problems often occur when larger vehicles, with a width of 2.5 meters, use the road section.  Widening the road section is not possible, as the dam is a declared monument. Thus, the Smart Traffic Control System (STCS) based on video analytics (VA) technology has been developed through the collaboration between Transport Department and CUHK project team, which created a VA-based Trolley Monitoring System for Hong Kong International Airport in an LSCM R&D project.  The system, the first of its kind in the city, has been deployed there to cut down on delays.

The STCS has 8 sets of traffic detectors installed within 400 meters of either side of the scenic but congestion-prone road.  Each traffic detector turns video content into real-time traffic data by detecting, tracking, and counting vehicles passing by.  The STCS then uses data from all 8 detectors to compute vehicle queue lengths on both sides of the Dam and adjust the duration of green traffic light signals to reduce overall delays in real-time.  For instance, when the system identifies a queue longer than 200 meters on one side and the other less than 200 meters, it allocates an extra 165 seconds of green signal.  After the queue is cleared, the traffic lights show a red signal on both sides for 45 seconds so that all vehicles along the Dam Section can be cleared.

The system has been commissioned since August 2018 and according to the latest figures, it is twice as effective with time saving compared to traditional traffic lights.  Based on the records from August 25 to the end of November 2018, the traffic queue in Tai Tam Road did not exceed 400 meters at peak hours.  With a traditional traffic light, it took around 400 seconds for the drivers to queue up and pass through the dam; however, with a smart traffic light, it only took around 145 seconds.

Smart Traffic Control System has won Silver Medal at the 47th International Exhibition of Inventions Geneva in 2019.

物流及供應鏈多元技術研發中心 > 技術商品化 > 專案研究 > 智能交通控制系統
智能交通控制系統

智能交通控制系統

我們致力於研發智能交通控制系統,以配合香港智慧城市發展藍圖,透過智慧科技減輕交通系統負擔,實時減少交通延遲狀況,協助智慧城市的發展,進一步增強香港的交通物流發展。

大潭道(大壩段)建於一個多世紀前,是連接柴灣和赤柱之通道的一部分。由於寬度僅為5米,當寬度為2.5米的較大型車輛使用該路段時,經常會出現堵塞問題。由於大壩是一座古蹟文物,不可能把路段擴大。因此,由運輸署與香港中文大學項目團隊合作開發,基於視頻分析(VA)技術的智能交通控制系統(STCS)應運而生。該系統應用了同一項目團隊在LSCM為香港國際機場研發的「實時視訊監察行李車供應系統」。它是首個同類型的系統,已在大潭道應用以減少交通堵塞,推動香港智慧城市發展。

 

 

STCS有8套交通探測器,安裝在大潭道(大壩段)的道路兩側400米範圍內。每個交通探測器通過檢測、追蹤和計算,把視頻內容轉換為實時的交通數據。STCS使用8個探測器的數據來計算大壩兩側的車輛隊列的長度,從而調整綠燈訊號的維持時間,並以實時減少總體的延遲。例如系統偵測某方車龍超過200米,而另一方少於200米,便會增加165秒綠燈時間,先讓車龍較長一方通過。車龍清除後,此時兩組交通燈號均亮起紅色,並維持45秒,以便正在開行的車輛通過水壩。

該系統自2018年8月開始投入使用。根據最新數據,與傳統交通訊號燈相比,它節省了兩倍的等候時間。根據2018年8月25日至11月底的記錄,大潭道在繁忙時間的車龍情況不超過400米。使用傳統的交通燈時,駕駛人士排隊並穿過大壩約需400秒;然而,使用智能交通信號燈時,駕駛人士只需145秒。智能交通控制系統的投入服務成為整個香港智慧城市發展的一塊重要拼圖。

此系統在第47屆日內瓦國際發明展上獲得銀獎。